Settled on Scilly

The Isles of Scilly are connected to the rest of Britain by ferry from Penzance (summer only) and plane / helicopter from Land’s End, Newquay or Exeter.  These, along with a thrice weekly cargo delivery, all arrive to the main island of St Mary’s.

The population of the Scilly Isles is dispersed across 5 inhabited islands – St Mary’s, St Martin’s, St Agnes, Tresco and Bryher.  The off-islands, as the others are called, each have a well-stocked shop / post office, a pub, a church and a regular connection to St Mary’s, weather permitting.

The islands have primary schools (Bryher pupils travel the short distance across to Tresco) but for secondary school the children go to St Mary’s for the week, returning home for weekends.

Each island also has a fire station, which operates as a general emergency centre, with access to coastguard and first aid.  There is a hospital on St Mary’s, which has a minor injuries unit, but anything major requires a helicopter ride to the mainland.

St Mary’s has the main settlement – Hugh Town.

Here you find all the shops and services that you would expect in a small town.

It even has a rush hour – just before the departure of the boats to the off-islands.